Posted by: shellyweave | April 28, 2010

love is a battlefield.

The Quote of the Week seems to me the perfect way to start off. In the movie Captain Corellis’ Mandolin, the following words of wisdom are spoken– “When you fall in love, it is a temporary madness. It erupts like an earthquake, and then it subsides. And when it subsides, you have to make a decision. You have to work out whether your roots are become so entwined together that it is inconceivable that you should ever part. Because this is what love is. Love is not breathlessness, it is not excitement, it is not the desire to mate every second of the day. It is not lying awake at night imagining that he is kissing every part of your body. No… don’t blush. I am telling you some truths. For that is just being in love; which any of us can convince ourselves we are. Love itself is what is left over, when being in love has burned away. Doesn’t sound very exciting, does it? But it is!” These words speak greatly of what being IN love is; but love, as we all know is such a hard concept to grasp. It is more than just the relationship love–which is hard. But, does love in general have to be so confusing?

I want to pose a question. How can simple, day to day love really be defined? I have been thinking this through in attempts to define love in my life and relate it to my specific situations. So far, to me, love is friendship, love is family, love is grace and love is actions that speak louder than words. More specifically, love is taking the time to learn about those around you. Love is driving to someones house in the middle of the night just to hang out. Love is caring for a person no matter what they do. Love is a smile when everything is going wrong. Love is acting without inhibitions. Love is cleaning the house when you see your mom had a bad day. Love is the little things and love is more than just the feeling–it is the corresponding action.

Sometimes I feel as if I do not really take the time to recognize the people around me that truly do LOVE me. I have my parents, my sister, and my Shelly. These four people love me unconditionally, no matter what I do and I am thankful for that. If I only have these four people care about me my whole life, I would be content. Although these people care for me so much, I have been asking myself, do I show the same respect for them? So, I have come to realize, that I need to put more love into everything that I do. I need to thank those around me for loving me and I need to express my love and appreciation for them. Love does not just have to be defined as flowers and chocolate, big red hearts and sweet kisses. Love should be expressed daily.

Lately, I have been worried about my future marital status. My sister got married at 18 and I am swiftly approaching that age which is so scary. But, I have zero prospects and, to take my own advice, I shouldn’t be so focused on that IN love, love. But that everyday, simple down to earth pure love. Love that anyone and everyone can have. Although one day that true love might come, right now, my daily dose should be fulfilled through the simplicity of the love already surrounding me. So, whether I marry J. Beibs or a hobo, or whether I have to live in my friend’s basement, or Shelly’s garage or whether I have no “back-up” man to marry or whether I become a nun, I will still have the love of those who truly care for me and that is all that matters.

So, to me love isn’t really a battlefield unless I choose to make it one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

