Posted by: shellyweave | May 17, 2010

wherein shelly mentions freckles. again.

I’m feeling like one big bag of crap today, I can feel whatever germ that’s torturing me laughing maniacally as I write, so I am going to list some things that make me happy. I hope that’s alright with you.

1. Hilarious song lyrics. You know what I’m talking about- driving in traffic on the highway, feeling like you’ll NEVER reach your destination, and all of the sudden you tune into the lilting voice of some singer who has quite the tale to tell. It might be a song that details a break up, hook up, or make up, or a story about A Boy Named Sue, either way, it instantly brightens your day and your drive. My personal favorite lately has been Pray for You by Jaron and the Long Road to Love:

“I pray your brakes go out runnin’ down a hill
I pray a flower pot falls from a window sill
And knocks you in the head like I’d like to
I pray your birthday comes and nobody calls
I pray you’re flyin’ high when your engine stalls
I pray all your dreams never come true
Just know wherever you are, honey, I pray for you.”

2. Cloudy days. Out here in the desert we don’t get many, especially this time of year, but the heat becomes slightly more tolerable when the sun is being blocked by a fluffy gray blanket. You might step outside to feel the warm breeze, or smell that dusty almost raining scent or you might spend the afternoon sitting in the car with all the windows down with a best friend and some drinks just giggling at nothing. It’s the perfect weather to sit outside in on a summer evening and watch life crawl on, leaves rustling and grass shivering in the heavy wind. I happen to be sitting in front of a wide open window at the moment.

3. Freckles. So I’ve talked about them before and I’ll inevitably touch on the subject again, but I love those little imperfections. For some reason, and I’m definitely biased here, they are just so enthralling to me. I don’t have any rhyme or reason, they just make me happy. The way they’re splattered across noses, shoulders, and arms are just magical somehow.

4. Discovering new features on old things. I listen to the radio through iTunes all the time, and would get so frustrated waiting for the name of the song to come up. Five minutes ago I clicked accidently on the radio station’s name below the now playing bar and the song name came up, a few clicks later and I realized that I can toggle these things. It was a good feeling. An excellent feeling.

5. Tylenol. As much as being sick sucks, I cannot help but feel grateful to the inventors of medicine. Without you, dear dear scientists, my head would be throbbing and splitting open all over my macbook right now. And that’s just sick.

Leave a Reply

Categories

