Posted by: shellyweave | July 4, 2010

three strikes and i’m out.

I figure it’s like this:

I haven’t posted in weeks. I haven’t done anything in weeks. I haven’t thought about anything worthy of posting in weeks.

So, I’ve decided, what better time to create a written master piece than 2 in the morning, with the vocal musings of Michael Buble playing softly and sweetly in the background of my thoughts. Thoughts. Those have been killer for me in the past few weeks. You may be wondering, what have I been thinking about? But, alas, a better question may be, what haven’t I been thinking about? Senior year, getting a job, responsibility, laziness, and the boring one-liner life that I have gotten myself into the past few weeks. That rut lasted longer than I thought, and I’m just tired of it. It’s time to kick it to the curb, otherwise, I fear that I will get bed-sores from laying around doing nothing.

Recently, Shelly and I have been going through some old Myspace posts that we sent to each other, way back in the era where Myspace was “cool.” I discovered a few things through this process:

1. Myspace was never really cool.

2. I have forgotten over half of my friends on my friends list on that wretched site.

3. Shelly and I, although we don’t believe it, have remained almost exactly the same.

Now, let me explain this last one. Although we may have grown in height, fluctuated in weight, changed our hairstyles from jet black with a blue streak to a sandy, golden toffy or other random colors, altered our styles to what we believe to be our “true selves” in the moment, we have not changed one bit. Shelly is still that knowledgeable music buff, who loves photography (but has grown in that so much), playing guitar, and who can read my crazy thoughts even when I give her nothing to work with. She is still that same old goofy H&H seeker (although it may not be the same one); she still likes sappy love movies, a good tune on the radio, and a sarcastic comment on the tip of her tongue. She was, is and always will be a major procrastinator. Shelly is still very loud and sometimes very grumpy. She will always have that witty comeback. She has held all that is the essence of her.

And me? I am still that silly, scatter-brained, semi-geeky girl, with little to no knowledge of music (yet has a love of singing and musical composition), who has a knack for math and knows what Shelly is saying even when she is speaking gibberish and generally only gesturing. I am still that boy obsessed, overly analytical being; I still like Berries and Cream, speaking my mind, and doing my homework. I still prefer cuddling up with a good book and wasting the day away to normal, everyday activities. I was, am, and always will be an overachieving perfectionist. I am still very loud and sometimes very grumpy. I still hold my sweet, somewhat innocent disposition. I have held all that is the essence of me.

With that said, Shelly, we have nothing to worry about. Seniors or not, fortunately or unfortunately, for the better or worse, we are still the same as we were freshmen year.

So, with all off my chest I feel like I can possibly get some rest tonight. I won’t promise to be better with writing– last time I did, it didn’t turn out so well.

It is now 2:22 AM and I have to teach Jesus to 3 and 4 year olds tomorrow very early in the morning. Sleeping is a necessary evil.

Goodnight world.

Leave a Reply

Categories

