Posted by: shellyweave | July 24, 2010

quotes that make my soul smile.

(OH HAI. That’s my arm. In the grass of Jenness Park. Where I attended camp last week. It was beautiful. And I could wear a hoodie comfortably. IN FREAKING JULY YOU GUYS!)

Meghan has taken on the quotes job here on Deux Voix, so I decided that I should get my own post devoted to the quotes that I delight in. So here it goes friends!

“Maybe it’s more like you said before, all of us being cracked open. Like, each of us starts out as a watertight vessel. And these things happen— these people leave us, or don’t love us, or don’t get us, or we don’t get them, and we lose and fail and hurt one another. And the vessel cracks open in places. And I mean, yeah, once the vessel cracks open, the end becomes inevitable. Once it starts to rain inside the Osprey, it will never be remodeled. But there is all this time between when the cracks start to open up and we finally fall apart. And it’s only in that time that we can see one another, because we see out of ourselves through the cracks and into others through theirs. When did we see each other face-to-face? Not until you saw into my cracks and I saw into yours. Before that, we were just looking at ideas of each other, like looking at your window shade but never seeing inside. But once the vessel cracks, the light can get in. The light can get out.”

-Paper Towns, John Green.

“I’m not young enough to know everything.”
-Oscar Wilde

“To love and to be loved is to feel the sun from both sides.”
-Davis Viscott

“Many persons have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. It is not attained through self-gratification but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.”
-Helen Keller

“The man who doesn’t read good books has no advantage over the man who can’t read them.”
-Mark Twain

“But when I call upon my Dashing Self,
out comes the same Old Lazy Self,
and so I never know just Who I Am,
nor how many I am, nor Who We Will Be Being.
I would like to be able to touch a bell
and call up my real self, the truly me,
because if I really need my proper self,
I must not allow myself to disappear.”
-Pablo Neruda (We Are Many)

Just a few that I really enjoy. Particularly the excerpt from Paper Towns, because John Green is one of my heros. NERDFIGHTERIA!

Leave a Reply

Categories

