Posted by: shellyweave | September 11, 2010

where i was.

A lot of people like to discuss where they were on September 11, 2001, when those towers fell. As someone who has a vivid photographic memory of every insignificant event I’ve experienced since I was like three, I am thankful that for once I can recall a detailed account of this significant day.

I was in fourth grade and that morning I stumbled out of the hallway of our old house and my mom was sitting in her old gray computer chair at the end of it, fixated on something I couldn’t see. I ran to her, hugged her, and shouted “happy birthday!” but was quickly hushed. My mom didn’t even look at me, and her eyes were wide and terror-stricken. I remember following her gaze, over the tiled patch in front of our door, the back of our new leather couch, the throw blanket sitting on the floor from whoever used it last, the remotes haphazardly tossed on the coffee table, a hot pink flier from the previous Sunday at our church announcing dinners and youth events. And then I saw the TV, and even at 10 I knew what I was seeing was absolute devastation as my mother and I silently watched the second plane hit, the knowing look spread across the news anchor’s face.

Because these were not an accident.

It was difficult to get ready for school that morning, my sisters and I were confused, my dad was already at work, my mom was glued to the television to find answers that would not come for awhile. Even when we were finally seated in our desks at school, the TV remained on. My teacher, Mrs. Robertson, watched the news diligently in lieu of a lesson. It was a half day for some reason, I cannot remember why after nine years, but I remember watching for suspicious planes on the way home.

“Terrorists” and “conspiracies” were words that followed the shocking video footage of people falling from the buildings, crying, lost. I didn’t know who radical Muslims were, or why they became the enemy. I didn’t understand anything.

The closest my family got to the twin towers was a great aunt who worked at the MTV Studios just a few blocks away, but we had already heard from her and she was fine. I didn’t lose anyone  in that tragic event, but I hurt for those who did, and I hurt for those that are still losing their sons, daughters, sisters, brothers, moms, dads, cousins, and friends in the war that ensued. I have a bitter hatred for war, but a reverence so strong for the men and women who are willing to fight it to keep us free.

God bless our troops.

Leave a Reply

Categories

